Thursday Aug 10, 2023

Sarah Kirkland Snider: Craft, Sincerity, and Gender Perceptions in Classical Music

Sarah Kirkland Snider joins Jocelyn on the inaugural episode of the Compose Like a Girl Podcast to talk about craft, sincerity, and gender perceptions in classical music. Hear the full, unedited conversation by becoming a Patreon subscriber. 

Youtube Companion Playlist, Spotify Companion Playlist

 

Support us: Subscribe on Patreon

Follow us: @composelikeagirl on Instagram and Facebook

Learn more: Compose Like a Girl

 

Transcript PDF

 

References/For More Information:

Sarah Kirkland Snider https://www.sarahkirklandsnider.com/ 

 

Penelope- https://www.sarahkirklandsnider.com/albums/penelope 

Mass for the Endangeredhttps://www.wisemusicclassical.com/work/58208/Mass-for-the-Endangered--Sarah-Kirkland-Snider/ 

Unremembered - https://www.sarahkirklandsnider.com/albums/unremembered 

 

New Amsterdam Records (Judd Greenstein and Bill Brittelle) - https://www.newamrecords.com/ 

Cantaloupe Music - https://cantaloupemusic.com/ 

Yale University - https://music.yale.edu/ 

St. Olaf College - Anton Armstrong - https://wp.stolaf.edu/choir/history/conductor/ 

Trinity Wall Street - https://trinitywallstreet.org/ 

Fargo-Moorhead Symphony - https://www.fmsymphony.org/ 

Kansas City Lyric Opera - https://kcopera.org/ 

Gallicantus, conducted by Gabriel Crouch- https://www.gallicantus.com/gabriel-crouch 

Annie Rosen - http://www.annierosenmezzo.com/ 

Nathaniel Bellows - https://www.nathanielbellows.com/ 

David Lang - https://davidlangmusic.com/about/ 

Shara Nova - https://shara-nova.com/ 

My Brightest Diamond (Shara Nova) - https://www.mybrightestdiamond.com/ 

Ethel Smyth - https://www.ethelsmyth.org/ 

Deborah Johnson, also known as Candy Stations - https://www.candystations.com/ 

 

Candy Floss article - New Music Box: https://newmusicusa.org/nmbx/candy-floss-and-merry-go-rounds-female-composers-gendered-language-and-emotion/ 

Article on Jeanine Tesori and Missy Mazzoli at The Metropolitan Opera: https://playbill.com/article/metropolitan-opera-to-present-new-works-by-jeanine-tesori-and-missy-mazzoli 

NY times article on works by women being performed more: https://www.nytimes.com/2022/06/21/arts/music/american-orchestras-women-minorities.html 

Mass for the Endangered Q&A:

https://operawire.com/q-a-sarah-kirkland-snider-on-new-recording-mass-for-the-endangered-writing-the-piece/  



Comments (0)

To leave or reply to comments, please download free Podbean or

No Comments

Copyright 2023 All rights reserved.

Podcast Powered By Podbean

Version: 20230822